Welcome to Burke County

Burke County was named in the honor of Dr. Thomas Burke, a member of the Continental Congress and governor of North Carolina. Burke County was formed in 1777 from Rowan County. It lies in the West central section of the State, and is bounded by Catawba, Cleveland, Rutherford, McDowell, Avery, and Caldwell counties. Morganton is the present county seat.


Some Surnames

Data Links

Land Grants
Burke County Queries
Cook/Cooke Marriage Records
Useful NC links and resources

Genealogy Search Engines

Return to NCROOTS.COM Hosted by The NCROOTS Team 2000-06

© BJ Roundtree